Sponge Boat Rigged with Netting at Docks of Tarpon Springs

Our History

Locally Owned, Community Focused

Scroll Down
Star mark from Flagship Bank logo

In early 2019 a group of local bankers and business men, led by Paul Wikle and Robert “Bob” McGivney, came together to form West Florida Bank Corporation.  With their sights set on acquiring Flagship Community Bank in Clearwater, they began raising capital in July of that same year.  Their efforts resulted in $37.7 million and nearly 300 new shareholders.

On October 24, 2019, West Florida Bank Corporation purchased Flagship Community Bank and began operating under the name of Flagship Bank on October 25, 2019.  At the time of purchase, there were two branch locations in Clearwater and Oldsmar.  The bank’s Board of Directors quickly began expanding the bank’s footprint by opening two additional branches in Tarpon Springs on February 10, 2020 and Largo on April 30, 2020.  One year later, the bank expanded into Downtown St. Petersburg, opening their fifth branch on April 30, 2021.  In 2022 Flagship expanded beyond Pinellas County into West Pasco, opening their sixth branch on April 15, 2022.

After acquiring the bank, key positions within the bank were filled with long-term, established bankers within the community.  The executive team led by CEO and Vice Chairman, Bob McGivney, includes James Nelson, President, COO and Chief Credit Officer, Robert Shaw, EVP,  Senior Lending Officer, Kenneth Bailey, EVP, CFO, Kelly Spica, EVP, Director of Bank Operations, Nick Patel, EVP, Retail Director and David Rhodes, SVP, Director of Technology.  Retail Market Managers include Christina Dickson, SVP – Clearwater, Rose Fasano, SVP – Oldsmar, Anna Billiris, SVP – Tarpon Springs, Susan Brockman, VP – Largo, Isabella “Bella” Wood, VP – St. Petersburg and Cami Austin, SVP, Community Banking Executive – West Pasco.

The Board of Directors led by Chairman Paul Wikle includes David Brandon, Brandon Construction, Ron Hockman, RS Hockman, Inc., Mark Klein, Klein & Heuchan, Ken Marks, West Coast Auto Group, LLC, Bob McGivney, Flagship Bank CEO and Vice Chairman, Joseph Oliveri, Oliveri Architects, Brent Sembler, The Sembler Company and Chris Sprowls, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney.

Scroll Up